Five distinguished Yale faculty members named 2019 Guggenheim Fellows

April 11, 2019

Five Yale faculty members and affiliates were among 168 scholars, artists, and writers appointed as 2019 Guggenheim Fellows. The fellows, who are appointed by the foundation on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, were chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants in the foundation’s 95th competition.

This year’s Yale fellows are: Joseph G. Manning, the William K. and Marilyn Milton Simpson Professor of Classics and History; John Durham Peters, the María Rosa Menocal Professor of English; Aki Sasamoto, assistant professor in sculpture at the Yale School of Art; Ann McCoy, lecturer in the graduate design division of the Yale School of Drama; and Janine di Giovanni, senior fellow at the Jackson Institute of Global Affairs.

Forty-nine scholarly disciplines and artistic fields, 75 academic institutions, 28 states and the District of Columbia, and two Canadian provinces are represented in this year’s class of fellows, who range in age from 29 to 85.

Since its establishment in 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has granted more than $360 million in fellowships to over 18,000 individuals — among whom are scores of Nobel laureates, Fields Medalists, poets laureate, members of the various national academies, and winners of the Pulitzer Prize, Turing Award, National Book Award, and other internationally recognized honors.

External link: